Current Winners & Finalists

Finalists for the 27th annual Minnesota Book Awards to be announced January 31, 2015. Check back here, or sign up for email updates.

Click here for a full list of nominees.

Winners will be announced at the Gala Awards Ceremony on Saturday, April 18 at Union Depot in Saint Paul.

26th Annual Minnesota Book Award Winners

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library and 3M Library Systems are pleased to present the winners of the 26th Annual Minnesota Book Awards, announced on Saturday, April 5, 2014:

Moo! CroppedChildren’s Literature

Sponsored by Books For Africa:

Moo! by David LaRochelle, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
(Walker Books for Young Readers/Bloomsbury Children’s Books)


The Nazi and the Psychiatrist CroppedGeneral Nonfiction

Sponsored by Minnesota AFL-CIO:

The Nazi and the Psychiatrist: Hermann Göring, Dr. Douglas M. Kelley, and a Fatal Meeting of Minds at the End of WWII by Jack El-Hai (PublicAffairs Books/Perseus Books Group)


Tamrack County CroppedGenre Fiction

Sponsored by Alerus Financial:

Tamarack County by William Kent Krueger (Atria Books/Simon & Schuster)


Prarie Silence CroppedMemoir & Creative Nonfiction

Sponsored by GovDelivery:

Prairie Silence by Melanie Hoffert (Beacon Press)


Modern Spirit: The Art of George MorrisonMinnesota

Sponsored by MSR Architects:

Modern Spirit: The Art of George Morrison by W. Jackson Rushing III and Kristin Makholm
(University of Oklahoma Press)


PeripateticCoffin pb c.epsNovel & Short Story

Sponsored by Education Minnesota:

The Peripatetic Coffin and Other Stories by Ethan Rutherford (Ecco/HarperCollins Publishers)


Black Aperture CroppedPoetry

Sponsored by Wellington Management, Inc.:

Black Aperture by Matt Rasmussen (Louisiana State University Press)


Sex & ViolenceYoung People’s Literature

Sponsored by Sit Investment Associates:

Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian (Carolrhoda Lab/Lerner Publishing Group)


The Minnesota Book Awards, presented by 3M Library Systems, is a program of The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library. Generous support for the 26th annual Minnesota Book Awards was provided by the Huss Foundation; The Katherine B. Andersen Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation; and The McKnight Foundation. Outreach partners and supporting organizations included: The Loft Literary Center; Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA); Minnesota Center for Book Arts; Minnesota Department of Education—State Library Services; and Minnesota Educational Media Organization.