The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library Confirms Eight New Board Members for 2018

The elected individuals complete a nearly 50-member board that will play a key role in the organization’s major 2018 endeavors, including strategic planning and resource development.

SAINT PAUL, MN, January 9, 2017 —The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library has elected eight new trustees to its board of directors, effective January 1,2018. The new members bring a wide range of expertise and experience to the organization, from nonprofit administration to communications to finance.

“This group of individuals brings incredible talent and energy to their service,” says newly-elected board chair Jean O’Connell. “We are also pleased that this class of new members embodies a cross section of experience, interests, and expertise that will go far to represent the needs of the Saint Paul Public Library and all the members of our community.”

The new members are Erin Bailey, Ann Folkman, Sean Kershaw, Lohini Mayo, Carrie Obry, Mark Price, Vineeta Sawkar, and Jennifer Wolf.

Erin Bailey currently serves as the director of executive initiatives at Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare and previously launched and led the Center of Native American Youth at the Aspen Institute.

Ann Folkman is managing director of marketing and global communications for CarVal Investors and serves as a director on the boards of Urban Ventures and the University of St. Thomas College of Arts and Sciences.

Sean Kershaw is vice president of Wilder Center for Communities at the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, having previously served as the Executive Director of the Citizens League.

Lohini Mayo owns and manages Agro-k Corporation, one of the first sustainable agriculture companies to introduce organic products to large scale commercial growers.

Carrie Obry is executive director of the Midwest Independent Booksellers Association, and also founded the Heartland Fall Forum, a trade show for the combined Midwestern independent bookselling market.

Mark Price is founder and managing partner of LiftPoint Consulting Group and is a frequent speaker at conferences as an expert on data-driven marketing. He also has a podcast called The Lift Point.

Vineeta Sawker is the senior communications advisor for the HealthParners Institute at HealthPartners and is a five-time Emmy award-winning journalist. She also serves on the board of Circus Juventas.

Jennifer Wolf is vice president and chief legal officer for Advantus Capital Management and a fellow of the American College of Mortgage Attorneys. She serves on the board of Como Friends and was honored by Finance & Commerce as one of the Twin Cities’ Top Women in Finance in 2017.

“One of the greatest strengths of The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library has always been its board of directors,” observes Friends president Beth Burns. “This new class of trustees certainly perpetuates this strength as we look ahead to the fundraising, resource development, advocacy, programming, and strategic planning needs of the organization.”

Outgoing members of the board (due to term expiration or, in one case, election as mayor) include, Joseph Bagnoli, Kathleen Callahan, Mayor Melvin Carter, Jay Cowles, Jeannette Frederickson, Gordon Goodwin, Sia Her, Paul Hirschboeck, Mary Rothchild, and Annette Whaley.

Members are elected to a three-year term, which is renewable for up to three terms. The eight new members complete a board roster that includes nearly 50 leaders from throughout Saint Paul and the greater metro area. An independent nonprofit, The Friends invests in the Saint Paul Public Library so that its branches are vital centers of engaged, educated and diverse communities.