2017 Minnesota Book Award Winners: Reading & Conversation

July 20, 2017 @ 6:30 pm – 9:00 pm
Rochester Public Library
101 2nd St SE
Rochester, MN 55904
Bailey Veesenmeyer Email

2017 Book Award Winners

Enjoy a brief presentation from each author, followed by a moderated question and answer session. Book sales will be available with time for signing. Participating authors are:

Participating authors include J.J. Austrian, winner of the award for Children’s Literature for Worm Loves Worm, an irresistible picture book celebrating love in all its splendid forms. Austrian is a graduate of Hamline University’s masters of fine arts program in creative writing for children and young adults. This is his first picture book.

Lara Avery is the recipient of the award for Young Adult Literature for The Memory Book, a funny and bittersweet novel chronicling the summer after a gifted high school valedictorian is diagnosed with a degenerative disease. Avery is the author of A Million Miles Away and Anything But Ordinary. She lives in Minneapolis, where she is a contributor at Revolver, and at work on her next novel.

Allen Eskens is the winner of the award for Genre Fiction for The Heavens May Fall, a mystery full of twists and turns which is vividly told from two opposing perspectives. Eskens is also the author of The Life We Bury, a Minnesota Book Award finalist, and The Guise of Another. He was a practicing criminal defense attorney for 25 years.

Brian Farrey is the Middle Grade Literature award winner for The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse, a thrilling modern fairytale. Farrey is the author of the Vengekeep Prophecies series and the Stonewall Honor Book and Minnesota Book Award-winner With or Without You.

Peter Geye is the recipient of the award for Novel & Short Story for an epic tale of a love spanning 60 years, generations’ worth of feuds, and secrets withheld and revealed in Wintering. Geye is also the author of the novels Safe from the Sea and Lighthouse Road.

Shawn Otto is the author of the General Nonfiction award-winner The War on Science: Who’s Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It. Otto is an award-winning science advocate, educator, and speaker. He is the author of Fool Me Twice: Fighting the Assault on Science in America, winner of a Minnesota Book Award, and a novel, Sins of Our Fathers.

Cheri Register’s The Big Marsh: The Story of a Lost Landscape is the recipient of the award for Minnesota Nonfiction and a history of vast age-old wetlands drained away in the name of agricultural progress. Register is also the author of Packinghouse Daughter, which won a Minnesota Book Award and an American Book Award.

Kao Kalia Yang retells the life of her father, a song poet and Hmong refugee in Minnesota in The Song Poet: A Memoir of My Father, winner of the Memoir & Creative Nonfiction award. Yang is also the author of The Latehomecomer: A Hmong Family Memoir, which was a finalist for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award and the Asian American Literary Award, and received the 2009 Minnesota Book Award.

This event is presented by The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library with the Rochester Public Library. Funding was made possible through grants from Minnesota State Arts Board and the National Endowment for the Arts.