Submissions & Applications

Book Award Submission

Now accepting submissions for the 30th annual Minnesota Book Awards. Authors, publishers, and agents may submit a book by completing the online form and submitting five non-returnable copies of the book, plus a $45 entry fee. All books must be the work of a Minnesota author or primary artistic creator. Submission deadline: Friday, November 17, 2017.

Judge Application

Judge applications are now open. The Minnesota Book Awards is committed to having a broad base of experience on judge panels. Judges are selected from across the state to include a diversity of professional experience, educational background, ethnicity, age, and gender. Previous judges are welcome to apply. Deadline: September 8, 2017.

Kay Sexton Award Nomination

The Kay Sexton Award is presented annually to an individual or organization in recognition of long-standing dedication and outstanding work in fostering books, reading and literary activity in Minnesota. Nominations for the 2018 award are now open and will be accepted through November 17, 2017.

Book Artist Award Submission

Submissions for the 2017 Book Artist Award are now open. The annual Book Artist Award recognizes a Minnesota book artist or book artist collaborative group for excellence of artistic work as well as significant contributions to Minnesota’s book arts community. Individual artists and collaborative groups are eligible. The submission deadline is November 17, 2017.

Hognander Minnesota History Award Nomination

Nominations are now open for the next biennial award, which will be presented in 2018. The deadline for nominations is November 17, 2017. The Hognander Minnesota History Award recognizes the most outstanding scholarly work related to Minnesota history published during the preceding two years. The award, funded by the Hognander Family Foundation, is presented every two years.