Winners and Finalists

32 Books PicCurrent Finalists

The Finalists for the 29th Annual Minnesota Book Awards have been announced!  Winners will be announced at the Minnesota Book Awards Ceremony on Saturday, April 8, 2017 at the InterContinental Hotel Saint Paul Riverfront.

Steven McCarthyBook Artist Award Winners

The annual Book Artist Award recognizes a Minnesota book artist or book artist collaborative group for excellence of artistic work as well as significant contributions to Minnesota’s book arts community. Read more about current and past award recipients.

Read more>>

Kay Sexton Award Winners

The Kay Sexton Award is presented annually to an individual or organization in recognition of long-standing dedication and outstanding work in fostering books, reading and literary activity in Minnesota. Read more about the current and past honorees.

Read more>>

Degrees of Freedom by William D. GreenHognander Minnesota History Award Winners

The Hognander Minnesota History Award recognizes the author of the most outstanding scholarly work related to Minnesota history published during the preceding two years. The award, funded by the Hognander Family Foundation, is presented every two years.

Read more>>


Past Winners & FinalistsPast Finalists

Since 1988, The Friends, through the Minnesota Book Awards, has striven to showcase the tremendous literary talent and output of writers, illustrators and book artists in our state.

Read more>>