Book Artist Award Submission

The annual Book Artist Award recognizes a Minnesota book artist or book artist collaborative group for outstanding new work in the book arts during the last year (since October 2016), a demonstrated proficiency in the book arts, and significant contributions to Minnesota’s book arts community.

Submissions for the 2018 Book Artist Award are now open. Deadline: November 17

Presented with the Minnesota Center for Book Arts
Sponsored by Lerner Publishing Group

Book Artist NominationThe 2018 Minnesota Book Artist Award includes:

  • $500 award
  • Minnesota Book Award and recognition at the Awards Ceremony
  • Retrospective exhibit at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts
  • Opportunities for programs and exhibits at Minnesota libraries
  • Statewide publicity surrounding announcement of the Minnesota Book Awards

Read an overview of the Book Artist Award 

Eligibility RequirementsEnter your work

The following are eligible:

  • Individual artists and collaborative groups
  • Current Minnesota resident or those who demonstrate a significant and long-standing contribution to the Minnesota book arts community
  • Artists who are able to provide actual samples of work for a one week period in early December
  • Artists able to participate in the exhibit and April 21 Awards Ceremony

Submission Process

  • Submit an online entry form.
  • You will be asked to supply:
    • Three (3) images of a new piece created since October 1, 2016
    • Three (3) images of supporting pieces from any time in your career as a book artist
    • Image list
    • Artist’s statement
    • Résumé or vita
  • The Minnesota Book Awards will contact all applicants to confirm receipt of materials.
  • Finalists selected: November
  • Award winner selected: beginning of December

The Minnesota Book Artist Award winner is selected by five jurors based on written submission and work samples provided.

Jurors are knowledgeable about the book arts community and accomplished artists selected by the Minnesota Book Awards. Anyone submitting work for the Award may not serve as a juror for the year in which they are being considered.