The 2018 winners have been announced! Click here to see the list.

About the Minnesota Book Awards

The Minnesota Book Awards is a year-long program that fosters our statewide literary arts community and connects readers and writers throughout Minnesota.

The process begins in the fall with book submissions and continues through winter with two rounds of judging. Winners are announced at the annual Minnesota Book Awards Ceremony each spring. Woven throughout the season are various engagement activities and events that promote the authors and connect the world of Minnesota books – writers, artists, illustrators, publishers, editors, and more – to readers throughout the state.

DSC_8093 copy

Book Awards Season

The Minnesota Book Awards season starts in the summer and culminates with the awards ceremony in April of the next year.


Book submissions for the 2017/2018 season are closed.

See the full list of submitted books >>


Judge applications for the 2017/2018 season are closed.


Winners for the 30th anniversary season were announced April 21, 2018.

Click here to see the list.

In recognition of the Minnesota Book Awards and its other statewide programs and services, the Library of Congress has recognized The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library as the state’s designated Center for the Book.

Minnesota Center for the Book page >>

Minnesota Book Awards Ceremony

The 30th annual Minnesota Book Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, April 21 at the InterContinental Hotel in Saint Paul. Thanks to everyone who made the evening a success! Click here to see pictures and stay tuned for next year's ceremony date!

Book Submissions

Book submissions are now closed.

Authors, publishers, and agents may submit a book by completing the online form and submitting five non-returnable copies of the book, plus a $45 entry fee. All books must be the work of a Minnesota author or primary artistic creator.

Submission deadline: Friday, November 17, 2017.

See the full list of submitted books >>

Apply to Be a Book Awards Judge

Judge applications are now closed.

The Minnesota Book Awards is committed to having a broad base of experience on judge panels. Judges are selected from across the state to include a diversity of professional experience, educational background, ethnicity, age, and gender. Previous judges are welcome to apply.

Deadline: September 8, 2017.

Other Submissions

Submissions are now closed.

Book Artist Award Sponsor


Hognander Minnesota History Award Sponsor

Hognander Family Foundation

Kay Sexton Award Sponsor


Award Category Sponsors

Preface Reception Sponsor


Epilogue After-party Sponsor

Metro State color

Program Sponsors

Educator's Circle

Publisher’s Circle

Media Partners

Outreach Partners

Judging Sponsor


Space for the 2018 judging sessions has been generously provided by CommondBond Communities.



Legislative Funder

MDE logo

Made possible in part by the State of Minnesota through a grant to the Minnesota Department of Education

Legacy Funder


In-kind Sponsor